I’m alive!!

Did you miss me??  I know, I know…it’s been way WAY too long.  Where have I been?  Almost dying…and I’m only being slightly dramatic.

The month of June has not been very fun for me.  The beginning of the month included a cross country road trip from NC to Indiana for Mr. E’s sister’s wedding.  Yes, another wedding.  It was wonderful seeing my new in-laws again and the wedding was very pretty but the toll of the trip definitely wore on me.  It’s 12-13 hours one way and I definitely need to work on packing healthier road trip snacks.  I ate tons of Pringles, Twizzlers, M&M’s, and Gummi Bears.  Not the best foods to eat when you’re stuck in a sitting position for hours upon hours.

Everything in moderation, people!
Everything in moderation, people!

source: http://pixabay.com/en/pringles-chips-snack-junk-food-331944/

Here are a few of beautiful sites the Midwest had to offer us:

2014-06-09 09.48.00       2014-06-09 08.35.26  2014-06-09 17.16.21

Yes, we visited a town named after me!  Those giant windmills are so cool to see in person.  And check out that storm we drove straight into on the way home!

Coming back from this trip left my immune system a little compromised.  This tends to happen after long trips away from home and have to sleep in “not my bed.”  Anyway, the week after the wedding was a long week at work with pretty much no exercise occurring.  And then we hit last week.  Sunday evening things were not looking good…fever & headache.  Monday was a call out with full expectations of returning to work on Wednesday (I only work Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday each week).  Didn’t make it to work Wednesday…or Thursday…and without giving way TMI I was finally able to eat solid foods sometime around Friday afternoon.  It was NOT a fun week.  I ended up losing like 7 pounds which sounds awesome but was not fun or in any way recommended lol.  I also experienced symptoms of heat exhaustion (despite not leaving the house for 5 days) and low iron issues.

My whole week :(
My whole week 😦

source: http://pixabay.com/en/ill-cold-sniff-handkerchief-kermit-298909/

So…what’s going on now?  Today was my first full day back at work after over a week.  I’m trying to make sure I’m eating clean and healthy and I’m slowly getting my activity level up.

I’m still kinda over this whole running thing.  I really think it’s the heat.  I have no desire to get up at the ass-crack of dawn to still be drenched in sweat because the humidity level is already 90% or more!  One thing that’s on my to-do list this week is to break up with my current gym and enroll in the one in town with a lap pool.  I’m so ready to get back into swimming!  Something many of you may not know about me is that I was a competitive swimmer all of middle school and high school.

Truth...
Truth…

source: http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/funnies-cartoon.asp?id=218

Anyway, that’s a lot of info crammed into one longish update.  I will leave you all for now.  Expect some exciting new posts about my swim adventures, my first diet bet, and some good old fashioned summer fun!  No more getting sick during summer!  NONE!!

 

Leave a comment