That Time I Ran a Trail Race

I signed up for the Hot Chocolate 5K & SPCA Doggie Dash in lieu of the Commitment Day 5K for a few reasons:

1) It was on January 4th so I wouldn’t have to wake up early (or at all) on New Year’s Day morning.  This turned out to be a fantastic idea as I imbibed a bit too much on New Year’s Eve 😉

2) Instead of just a crummy race shirt (I have enough of those!) I would get an awesome hot chocolate mug instead!

3) The SPCA is one of my favorite organizations!  We got our precious Jackson from there.  I love any organization that supports puppies needing to be rescued.

Late last week I was thinking I had made a wrong decision!  Weather channel was calling for rain on race day with 20 mph wind gusts!  I’m all about being badass with my running but on my first run of the year I was hoping for something a little more easy-going.

Luckily, the weather gods shined down on us and the morning of race day dawned partly cloudy, breezy and mild.  Temperature at race time was going to be in the upper 60’s w/100% humidity!!  What?!?  I was not looking forward to the humidty…I knew this race was going to be a sweaty mess.

2015-01-04 12.49.31

Before the race started, the director made an announcement saying that due to all the recent rain parts of the trail were covered in wet leaves and there was a lot of mud on the course.  Now, up until this point I was thinking that the race was going to take place on paved greenways, not muddy trails.  Shows how much I paid attention to the course map/description beforehand!

Anyway, I swallowed my apprehension and took off across the starting field.  Within the first 5 minutes I had found at least half a dozen mud puddles and my shoes were soaked.  Dodging runners (many with dogs by the way) and tree roots and trying to keep my footing on the wet leaves.  The course did cross over onto greenways every now and then but we spent the majority of the time on the trails.

Great shot by the race photog...Hi there!
Great shot by the race photog…Hi there!

I felt like I was keeping a pretty good pace.  I wasn’t taking very many walk breaks and I was passing people!  Yay, me!!  Then…at the beginning of Mile 3, there it was.  A hill.  Not just any hill, but an ugly, steep hill covered in wet leaves and wooden beams meant as steps that were even more slippery!  The good news is that after that hill we ran across the top of the trail and then it was all downhill until the finish line.

2015-01-05 21.10.12
Digging deep towards the finish!

I crossed the finish and was so preoccupied with getting the timing chip cut off my laces, I forgot to stop my Garmin and RunKeeper until a minute later!

I think the course was short.  When I finally remembered to stop all of my devices I was still in the finish line area and my distance was clocking in at 3.00 miles.  Boo!!  They did have to move the start area early Race Day morning due to the rain on the course.  My official time (even on a short course) was 33:02.  I’m super impressed with this time considering the conditions on the race course.  I think my speed workouts on the treadmill are really helping!

I made my way into the after race party to pick up my hot chocolate mug and fill it up with hot chocolate.  Now, I’d just finished running 3 miles in 70 degree weather and high humidity.  I was sweating like a pig and hot chocolate didn’t really sound super appetizing but it WAS the Hot Chocolate 5K.  I had to fill up my mug!

2015-01-04 10.56.38

2015-01-04 10.53.06
First race of the year…DONE!

I’m not sure if I’ll run this race again next year.  Trail running is definitely not what I’m used to.  I was super scared I was gonna trip over a tree root and dislocate my knee or twist my ankle.  I think I’ll stick to the greenways and roads for now.  I do have to say I felt pretty bad ass making my way through all that mud though.  The race director said it was a badge of honor.  I’m also super glad I decided to wear my old running shoes instead of the new ones I just got for Christmas.  Best decision ever!

Muddy shoes=badass runner!
Muddy shoes=badass runner!

I spent last night working on the rest of my race schedule for the year and it’s looking pretty good so far.  Next race will be the Krispy Kreme Challenge and this year my brother is going to run it too.  He’s WAY faster than me and he’s going for the true challenge-running 2.5 miles, eating 12 doughnuts, and running 2.5 miles to the finish.  I wish him the best of luck 😛

Have a great first full week of 2015, everyone!  I hope you don’t have to wait insane amounts of time to use the treadmills at the gym.  We just gotta make it though the next 3 weeks and the Resolutioners will be gone!!

Leave a comment