7 miles…

3f017b2ad1a79d4d2fdc6e2c6debf79e

Mile 1:  Ok…I can do this.  It’s just a 10K plus a little more.  No problem!  Let’s not get crazy though…we got a long way to go! (11:27)

Mile 2:  This is easy!  My breathing is in check, my legs feel great.  I’ve got this! (11:00)

Mile 3:  Check this out!  I just took my first walk break.  If I keep this up I might beat my 10K pace! (11:22)

Mile 4:  Maybe an out and back wasn’t the best idea…I’ve seen all this stuff before. (11:27)

Mile 5:  Not so easy anymore.  Where is that easy pace I was feeling just a few miles ago?  I gotta get that back! (11:54)

MIle 6:  Walking is so much easier than running.  Running is stupid!  I should just stop my Garmin right now.  I’ll never make it to 7 miles… (13:20)

Mile 7:  You’re going to finish this…no matter what!  Just run as hard as you can for as far as you can.  Walk if you must…but you are going to FINISH!! (11:27)

I did it…I finished my longest run to date.  7 miles was daunting for me to run on my own without the motivation of a race.  I knew it would just be me out there with my thoughts.  I totally get how running is such a mental game!  You can tell by my mileage splits where I completely thought about giving up.

After it was all said and done, a sweet friend on Instagram reminded me that I ran half of a half marathon (or a quarter marathon depending on how you look at it).  That’s nothing to sneeze at.

 2015-01-19 10.42.50

I guess half marathon training is officially underway.  It’s such a confidence boost to know I can run these long distances months ago I would have thought impossible.  Running is the best!!

5f907537c571ea53fcc02631cb5ff2a1

Leave a comment